An Afternoon At Brew Babu

Hi everyone! How are you all (whoever is reading)?

So in this blog post I’d like to dedicate it and spread the word about what has to be THE most amazing cafe that I have ever visited!! I have been to my fair share of cafe’s and restaurants but this one has been just the most delightful and relaxing one of them all!

Today my sister, aunt and I visited Brew Babu in Oundle, Northamptonshire a lovely short ride away from where I live in Peterborough. It’s situated in the market place, however still has that nice serene feel to it. It also looks rather small from the outside, however on the inside its rather spacious (reminded me of The Tardis in Doctor Who!) It’s got such a warm and homely vibe to it and its decor – a kind of rustic , mismatch interior yet beautifully detailed and arranged furniture to make you feel instantly relaxed and welcomed, just like visiting a close friend or relative for the afternoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My sister was the first person to discover Brew babu where she brought her boyfriend for their ‘Alphabet Dates – B:- Breakfast @ Brew Babu’ and fell in love with the atmosphere, the food (especially the chocolate milkshakes) the tabletop games (I believed they played snakes and ladders) and finally the staff so friendly and welcoming!

It was my mother who introduced me for my birthday, we came for afternoon tea and the staff had very kindly reserved a table in the window overlooking the market place of Oundle, the tea was brought out in these amazing quirky tea pots and cups and the cakes were placed on exquisite china plates. So that made me fall in love straight away! I am a massive lover of tea and cake!!

We came once more after that just for a little light lunch just my sister and I and then today (11th August) our aunt was visiting us from Newark, Notts so we decided to bring her to Brew Babu also… we knew she would just love it!!

Now recently I have been quite ill (you may have seen in my previous post.. if not please take a look :)) and I’ve changed my diet to a gluten free one also trying to avoid too much dairy  because my stomach at the moment can’t really deal with either.

Once we arrived I spoke to a lovely colleague at the deli area, he approached and greeted us asking if we had been before. I began to explain my situation.. can they cater for ‘gluten free/dairy free customers’ to which his reply was ‘yes I know we have some cakes and gluten free bread, I’ll get the chef to come and have a chat with you’ and with that we proceeded into the back room to find a table.

Moments later the chef greeted us and asked which one of us was gluten/dairy free, her name was Priska (apologies if I have misspelled your name). She went onto talking me through the menu, which options would be suitable for my dietary requirements. She then added that she could alter anything on the menu for me and adjust things so that I could enjoy the food on there – I have never had dietary problems in the past until now and the way she spoke to me and advised that she was willing to cater for me I felt so reassured and at ease.. as I know for certain friends who are gluten/dairy free that sometimes it can be very difficult when eating out – NOT at Brew Babu!

I decided on a cake – Orange and Almond, handmade by Priska the day before and she only had ONE slice left… that was going to be MINE!! As I ventured to the front desk I noticed that not only was it gluten free… but DAIRY FREE too!! This made me so happy and even more excited to try it.. they had also mentioned that they had gluten free bread.. I asked if I could have some, but had no idea what to have it with – lets face it, plain bread is pretty bland!! Priska went on to giving my suggestions ‘roasted vegetable, goats cheese (no) salad etc’ I replied that the roasted vegetables sounded lovely.. so with that.. she was off!!

I fully expected to see a couple of slices of gluten free bread with some roasted veg and salad.. I wasn’t expecting what I received!! An absolutely delicious mountain of roasted vegetables, on two slices of toasted gluten free bread with some kind of spread (not too sure what that was) topped with mixed leaves, tomatoes and a balsamic glaze… it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I loved every mouthful and then the cake….. well… I’m going to be researching a recipe and making my own!! It was so delicious.. moist, fluffy and soft.. I would never of expected gluten free& dairy free cake to taste like that at all!!

My aunt had soup of the day which was pea and kernel (I think again I could be wrong) and she absolutely LOVED it and followed it down with a sliced of this delicious fruit desert – again I can’t remember what it was called.. again beautifully presented! My sister had her favourite chorizo ciabatta garnished with a light salad and a few lightly salted crisps, she also followed that with a Portuguese custard tart. We then proceeded to play a game of noughts and crosses (one of their sweet little board games) and then decided that we had better go – I think we were there for well over an hour!!

 

I met the owner of Brew Babu – Dyna Graham and she was very welcoming, we explained how much we loved coming and were bringing more and more new people.. I then went onto telling her about my blog and how I’d love to write a post about Brew Babu.. I was allowed to take photographs and they all seemed thrilled!

And that concludes this entry of my blog today.. I want to point out that I was NOT sponsored for this.. I simply wanted to write about how much of a wonderful experience we had and how much we LOVE Brew Babu and we WILL be back soon.. maybe just my sister and I or maybe with other newbies.. Thank you SO much to all the staff, Dyna and Priska at Brew Babu.. you were as always fabulous. but excelled especially on this occasion!

Stay tune for my next post coming soon..

Hannah 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

