Taking things for Granted & Being Grateful

One main thing that I’ve learnt since being diagnosed with MS and going through this particular relapse is that we humans take SO many things for granted… and I mean little things!!

Going through this relapse has literally made me realise that the tinniest things that I take for granted on a daily basis are in fact huge! For example, I haven’t been able to climb the stairs without either needing help from my boyfriend or having to stop for a rest half way up — I only have one set of stairs in my house and there’s about… 10-13 steps, not being able to cook a simple meal without having to rest/sit down whilst doing it.. this was anything from a piece of toast or simple soup! Needing help to go to the toilet because I didn’t have the energy to walk there myself.. Having to chose whether I make my hair more presentable or put a little makeup on as I couldn’t do both!

All these little things mount up to big things and whilst I’m getting better now and able to do these things slowly it’s really made me realise how lucky I am and how much I need to be more grateful for the ‘little things’.

This morning was the first morning I woke up and felt… ‘Well. I didn’t feel sick, dizzy, have a headache, fatigued etc… I was able to go downstairs, feed my cat Arthur and get myself some breakfast as well. I was so happy and shared my news on Instagram and then thought about all the people who can’t do anything on a daily basis.. who wake up feeling the same every single day and who don’t have a choice but to fight every day to remain the slightest bit alert!

I’m creating a Bullet Journal — a really good friend of mine told me about this at the beginning of the year and I’ve fallen in love with the idea.. the fact that you can create and organise your own little space in a journal.. I’ve taken a lot of inspiration from a blogger/youtuber called Boho Berry and her designs and ideas are amazing… One design in particular that she does is called ‘The Gratitude Log’ a monthly spread where you write down one thing you’re grateful for each day… I LOVE this idea and have been doing it every day because not only does it help me mentally and continue to look at things more positively but also helps me deal with MS and I look back and see the things that I’m actually able to do!

I’m thinking of creating something similar to the ‘Gratitude Log’ but base it around MS and goals that I’m able to achieve.. also to help with my anxiety too.. so that I’ll be able to look back and say to myself.. ‘I did it’ I think it will also help me track my progress on ‘helping myself’ like I’ve mentioned in my last blog post.

So to whoever is reading this post… I think we should all come together.. and be grateful for at least one thing every single day.. even if that’s ‘I got out of bed this morning’ or ‘I managed to do 5 minutes of yoga’ or ‘I’m grateful for being alive’

I’m going to design a little kind of like ‘goal’ chart for everyday to try and help me stick to things that I need to do to keep me well.. I’ll write another little post about that with some pictures this time.. and hopefully to any of you out there who need help managing MS naturally or anything.. hopefully it will help you to cope with things better..

I love helping people and hope this post has brought a little smile to your day today… remember.. You have at least one thing to be grateful for every day.. and don’t take the small things for granted because one day… they might get taken away from you!

Lots of Love

Hannah xx

9 thoughts on “Taking things for Granted & Being Grateful

  1. Kerry-Ann says:

    I think being diagnosed with something like MS is a very humbling experience. It’s probably one of the few positive things to come out of the diagnosis…being grateful for the little things, slowing down and being kind to oneself.
    Wishing you all the best, xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

