A Break Away…Β 

Hello everyone 😊 how are you all today?

Today I’m going to go and stay with my Aunt, Grandmother and Uncle for a few days.. just for a “Break Away” or change of scenery…also to help build up my confidence about going out and to help my mental health and this relapse etc.. 

Picnic in the Country

So.. my first little adventure after having a rest when I arrived at my Aunt’s, was having tea at her field (we call it Riverside Meadows – it’s a fitting name because it’s next to a river and one of the fields looks like a meadow) she has horses and has had this field right from an early age! 

It’s so peaceful and tranquil… Perfect little get away to just forget about the rest of the world – the horses wanted to join in however. It’s just so nice to breath a different kind of air without feeling anxious or nervous about doing it… I have felt a little anxious because let’s face it anxiety does just go away, although I do feel a lot better being here and going out.

Tomorrow we are heading into town to get a couple of bits for my grandmother and to have a look around also – again the anxiety is there.. but I will accept it and deal with it.. I just need to keep telling myself that I AM allowed to go out as part of my recovery! 

A trip to Town

Good morning everyone, I hope you slept well? 

We are off to town this morning to have a little wander around the shops and to get a few bits… I’ve been using this amazing herbal relaxer by “Bach” and it’s brilliant for relaxing you.. you out a couple of drops onto your tongue and into some water and really does help you to relax! Unfortunately I’m running out so will need to pick up some more I get mine from Holland and Barrett.. and a fan for my bedroom because I was a tad warm last night lol! 

Since this relapse I’ve had smoothies every day for my breakfast… On a Sunday night I bag up a load of different fruits and add some greens (spinach or kale or both lol) put them all into the freezer so in the morning I just pick them out and blitz them up! This hasn’t changed since coming to my Aunt’s house.. here is a breakfast smoothie I made this morning! I also add oats to keep me fuller for longer! 

Right, I’m back from town! I think today is the longest I’ve walked in the 3 weeks I’ve been off!! Feeling quite tired now, so I know this afternoon I need to rest before going down to the field for our little evening supper. 

Whilst in town I visited a health shop and saw a lovely gentleman whose helping to relieve my anxiety through essential oils and aroma therapy oils.. I then popped into Boots to get some more Co-Codamol for the pain.. then to the Coop to get some bits to make homemade granola… Then back to my grandmother’s for a homemade chicken dinner… It’s been lovely to come away and not have to worry or do anything.. sometimes it’s nice to do this.. a nice treat in my reality.

Visiting Friends and Field adventures

Good Morning everyone I hope you all slept relatively well.. I did however woke up once but luckily managed to go back to sleep.

Today my Aunt and I are going to visit a friend who I haven’t seen for a long time… My Aunt is a piano teacher and she used to teach a gentleman and I used to go with her to their house and have coffee with his wife and play with their young son… But as time goes on we just get too busy with our lives don’t we? Now their son is in secondary school!! That makes me feel quite old.. and he’s having piano lessons now.

Once we arrived we were warmly greeted by our friend and had a lovely morning drinking tea and coffee.. they’re all lovely and I met their beautiful dog who is just so adorable.. I LOVE animals! 

I felt so relaxed and at ease whilst there… My anxiety didn’t affect me once, which is great! It comes and goes but not as bad as when I’m at home and going out..  just feeling a bit fatiguee today… 

12:30 and just had lunch made by my grandmother.. it was delicious and a real treat! Then having a little walk to the field with my crutches and Aunt afterwards, which was lovely seeing the horses and kitties.. I just love coming down here as is just so tranquil and relaxing! Sat in the barn listening to the rain.

Back now and sat in the front room resting whilst my Nana watches the Tennis 😊 my Aunt teaches this afternoon so I make sure I rest fully. 

And finally another evening supper in the barn at the field with a pony 😊 

Girls about town:- Mid-Morning tea, The Market, The Health Man and My first Bet! 

This morning my Aunt is taking me to visit The Market, it’s in every Wednesday where she lives and they sometimes have some good deals. 

Firstly we went to see this lovely little health chap in a hidden little health shop (a little like Holland and Barrett just much smaller) I loved it in here.. a lovely traditional shop filled with lots of wholesome goodies.. lots of veggie and vegan stuff too! We had been to see him on Monday and I’d explained about the anxiety and how I was feeling, he had told me that he was seeing his aromatherapist and would ask about me to see if she could help… Well we popped back today and he presented me with two essential oils… Neroli Oil and Juniper Berry Oil they are both quite strong in scent but ever so relaxing.. he told me I can use them in my diffuser at home.. or carry them around with me and if I feel an anxiety attack coming on I can use them! They’re quite expensive but I fully trust the man I spoke to because…. HE LISTENED TO ME! Shock horror right? Yep! And he’s really done his research for me.. so we purchased both bottles! 

After this we headed to a lovely little cafΓ© for ‘Mid- Morning’ tea my Aunt knew this lovely gentleman who owned/ran it, we had a reserved table and greeted by a friendly welcome.. it was very traditional and quaint.. I love these cafΓ©s that have authenticity and kind of history to them.. we then had tea and it was absolutely delicious! At 10:15AM!! Haha

We didn’t eat all of the cakes lol, so took some home to enjoy later! Doesn’t it look beautiful presented 😊

(Image from TripAdvisor)

Once we had received ourselves we travelled around the market for a little walk around before heading home.. it was lovely and my anxiety is getting lower and lower which is great.. I’m finally feeling ‘ok’ about being out whilst off sick because seeing these beautiful places albeit slowly are definitely making me feel slowly better 😊 and I bought myself some lovely new trousers! 

To finish off our little day last night, my Aunt and I took the camping gear down to the field (all in the car lol) and had tea. It was very exciting setting all the camping bits up.. I helped whilst sat down (I’m getting quite good going off road on my crutches!!) And for our tea we had sweet potato with baked beans and for desert we had water melon.. delicious!! 

Garden Centre visit
Good Morning everyone, I am sat writing this whilst having a nice cup of tea and take some painkillers… I’m feeling quite exhausted today (I’m learning to to say tired lol) and the nerve pain is a little stronger today.. I think I may have just done a little too much yesterday, however I LOVED it and I just know that I need to rest more today.

So that is what today is all about… We had a relaxing morning at the house, I’ve been playing the piano a lot more whilst I’ve been here which has been lovely.. We then had a lovely home cooked lunch (my Nana is amazing!) Of chicken pie and veg.

Once we had had lunch we set off to visit a lovely garden centre fairly close to where my Aunt and Grandmother lived. It’s such a lovely place to visit for an afternoon, such lovely things to look at and of course we had to have a cup of tea! 

(This was a parrot they had called Max)

I also found this amazing kitchen gadget which will come in very useful! 

You basically put underneath whatever you want to chop and the pot does the job for you! This is going to make life so much easier for me and I can’t wait to start using it! 

The final supper at the field… I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my stay here this week, it’s been so lovely to not have to worry about anything, to not think of meals to cook etc I’ve been very spoilt and I’ll be forever grateful! So down we all go to the field for our final dinner.. cooking in the stove again… I can’t wait! 

A little Downtown trip

So… Last day with my Aunt and Grandmother before going home tomorrow.. I’ve really enjoyed my stay and found it so helpful and great to have this little ‘Break Away’… Even though this relapse is still affecting me.. I’m mentally able to manage it so much better 😊

An early start this morning to Downtown… My aunt and Grandmother come her often and have a meal in the cafe whilst looking around all the bargains… It was so nice to go with them today… I felt a bit of anxiety creep up onto me but I managed to keep it at bay! 

We had a delicious jacket potato, cheese and beans for lunch.. and then had a look around the lovely things πŸ˜πŸ‘

I saw this BEAUTIFUL back pack after lunch.. the kind you fall in love with lol! It was by David Jones and I have one of his bags at home that I love too! It’s a pale pink bag pack satchel with rose gold detailing… I went away and had a look around some other bits… This was the first time I didn’t feel anxious or guilty about looking around the shops… 

As we were looking around I saw this beautiful top.. again a nice pale pink covered in butterflies and my Nana ever so kindly brought it for me 😊 

And now down to the field – this has been my ritual and determination whilst being here.. no matter how tired I felt or if I was in pain I WAS going to have my tea at the beautiful field and guess what…. I DID IT! Off road with my crutches as well lol! 😊 *High five*! 

Now I’m home with my boys! Going to have a relaxing night with them both and watch Dr Who 😊 

Thank you so much for reading.. I hope you’ve all enjoyed it! Sorry it’s been long! 

Lots of Love

Hannah xx

Leave a Reply

